Master of Library and Information Science (MLIS)

This eportfolio is a requirement for the Master of Library and Information Science program at Dominican University’s Graduate School of Library and Information Science (GSLIS) in River Forest, Illinois. Its stated goals are to:

1. Enable me to showcase my best work from my GSLIS courses, demonstrating my unique skills and talents, and

2. To show evidence of my competencies according to each of the GSLIS student learning goals.

Dominican University’s GSLIS students are expected to meet the following five learning goals. Students will:

Goal 1. Develop a professional identity, including commitment to core values of LIS.

Goal 2. Understand the essential nature of information and its relevance to society.

Goal 3. Navigate, curate and create information across the spectrum of human records from local to global contexts.

Goal 4. Synthesize theory and practice within a dynamic and evolving information environment.

Goal 5. Effectively communicate and collaborate to deliver, market, and advocate for library and information services.

Within each of these goals, students are given a choice of four to six outcomes to use to document their competencies, and are required to provide three artifacts per goal. You will see the specific outcomes, and the related artifacts that I have chosen on the succeeding pages listed in the navigation menu.

(As this eportfolio might be provided to potential employers as a body of evidence for my competencies, I have altered  identifying characteristics within my work to maintain the privacy of individuals or organizations that may be described.)

Other requirements for this eportfolio include a reflective essay that provides context and rationale for the materials included in this e-portfolio, and a current resume.

Thank you for your interest in my work.

Nancy

Leave a comment